ZAM Reporter

Shortlist 2021 Contemporary African Photography Prize Announced

Image | Kudita Tamary, The Gathering, 2020. CAP Prize 2021 Shortlist.

Here are the 25 photographers, selected by a panel of 21 international judges, making the shortlist of the 10th edition of CAP:  Aàdesokan | Yetunde | Ayeni-Babaeko  | Thami Benkirane | Marcus Trappaud Bjørn | Nabil Boutros | Katel Delia | Justin Dingwall | Andrew Esiebo | Jason Florio | Pippa Hetherington | Brian Hodges | Eldin Zainab Imad | Matt Kay | Adil Kourkouni | Tamary Kudita | DeLovie Kwagala | Dillon Marsh | Fabrice Monteiro | Claudia Ndebele | Emeke Obanor | Joseph Obanubi | Léonard Pongo | Mahefa Dimbiniaina Randrianarivelo | Paul Shiakallis | Mauro Vombe

Tamary Kudita (Zimbabwe, 1994) is one of the 25. This image, The Gathering, is from the series African Victoria (2020). Kudita: ‘My work speaks directly to the common reality amongst people of colour of an “obscured history” which often negates our individual stories. Thus, making a commentary on history and its selective unfolding. Through portraiture, I merge my contemporary aesthetic with a historical aesthetic as a way of showing how the old informs the new’.

The 5 winners will be announced at the Basel International Art Fair in September, 2021.

Check out the shortlist here.

Stories for change.

Subscribe to the monthly ZAM magazine newsletter and get the best in investigative journalism, arts, politics and opinion from Africa.